Sign in to follow this  
miked159

Question about welding

hey guys, i need help choosing a welder. Im a noob when it comes to welding, so I plan on teaching myself with books and dvd, etc. I just don't know what kind of welder to purchase. From what I gather on the net, it seems that the 140Amp range might be what Im looking for. Im just going to weld some pieces of the frame rails and just the front panels of the driver and passenger floors. And also the usual spots like inner wheelhouse and quarterpanel behind the wheel. The welders Im been looking at are the lincoln 140 and the millermatic 140. They both can weld from 24gauge to 10 gauge metal. The lincoln goes for 399 while the millermatic starts at 800. I know you get what you pay for, but Im worried about buying something thats way beyond the need of auto repair. Also Im not biased toward these two, if theres a better one out there please let me know. Any suggestions?

P.S. Theres this welding set Ive seen on this website, please tell me if its a good deal or not.

http://store.weldingdepot.com/cgi/weldingdepot/K2787-1A.html

Thanks in advance

I used a Lincoln 115 volt with a gas tank for a few years and was impresed by how it worked. The pro's I have known prefer a Miller over a Lincoln, but if you don't plan a making a living with the welder buy the Lincoln and get a good self dimming helmet. I used that welder for a 69 F 100 restore and for welding 1/8" angle iron together with no problems.

I'm not fimiliar with that machine but all you need is a wire feed with a gas sheild for sheet metal, you don't want flux core . I'm not sure if it's set up for that or not, it looks like it's flux wire or mig, just be sure to go with the gas shield wire feed it's by far the best way to go.

Edited by S code 69

Search here, you should be able to get any info you need.

http://weldingweb.com/index.php?