Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

astoria18

Need help - where does this go?

Hello,

Like I'm sure many other people do, I'm going to introduce myself with a dilemma. I'm 19 and recently purchaced a 1970 Mustang coupe with a 302 2bbl and automatic transmission. The engine runs, after a little effort. I always have to rev the engine while cranking in order to get it to idle. It won't drive in reverse up any kind of an incline without stalling, and it chooses to stall at other random times as well. I'm new to Mustangs and to Ford for that matter, having owned two thirdgen F-body cars.

I checked all of the vacuum hose routing.. all seems good. While poking around, I found this wire was not connected to anything and I have no idea where it is supposed to be. It comes from a 3 wire harness, one which goes to the ignition coil, another that goes to something that I can't name (but I took a picture of it) and the third is just hanging there. While it might not be the cause of my problem, I'd imagine it's important nonetheless. Any light that anyone can shed on this subject for me would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

mst01.jpg

mst02.jpg

mst03.jpg

Looks like the temperature sending unit doesn't have a connection. That is the item in the middle pic. I would assume your temp gauge doesn't register anything as it sits.

EDIT: Oh.. and welcome to the site!

-Stephen

Welcome!

Most definitely the wire to you temp sending unit as pointed out. Clearly shown on the second picture in the middle with the stud coming out! Those are the wonderful ford push on connectors, and they do make life easier if they are in good condition.

Good luck, and feel free to post any question, no matter how big or small. We've all been there at one point, none of us were born with infinite car knowledge... although some of us might like to think so :tongue:

Welcome!