Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Bobs_mach

HELP...need underbody color advice

I just started a full resto on my 69 machI after holding onto it for 19yrs. The shop has the unibody to bare metal will be spraying it with DP90 epoxy primer this week. My question is what to do with the underbody (floorpans, tunnel, etc). Should I paint it all chassis black, including wheelwells, outer engine compartment walls, etc? It's going to be a ground up resto, but I plan to drive it. I think the original underbody is a red oxide, but not sure if I even like that look. Finally, any thoughts on undercoating a car like this after a full resto? It's obviously never going to see snow or even rain...

Thanks for any input, I am new to all this, but love my mustang. It's a 69 machI, black with white interior, 351W original 4V. The car is all original and complete.

Bob

Id use the red oxide apoxy primer, and use body paint for over spray like originals, If your into it that far i think it would be a very good idea to keep it correct, i had a post of underbody resto ill find it.

Thanks for the quick response! Where does the red go? Engine compartment is black, but what about the outside of the aprons, shock towers, etc?

I'll admit that I like the idea of all black underneath in a way, but how much does that hurt the value of the car in the future?

I'll have pics tomorrow of the completely black shell (first coat of epoxy only) and will post. Do you have any correct underbody pics?

Thanks.

If you want to stay original by all means go red-oxide. If you are not worried about concourse or stock do what I am going to do and spray it with POR 15. That stuff is some kind of tough and a beautiful finish. Just don't get it on yourself - takes about a month to wear off. Actually it doesn't wear off your skin does....:laugh:

Will handle any kind of road grime and is a great protector against rust and can be painted over rust as an encapsulator.