Topher26041

69 power brake conversion

I have a 69 mustang convertible, automatic, 351W. I'd like to have a local shop convert to power brakes. Currently looking at a Master Power Brake Conversion Kit on CJ Pony Parts for $388. I would purchase and have them do the installation. I have no experience here and do not want to buy something that is poor quality or does not work. Any suggestions or recommendations here?

I used the power disc brake kit from Opentracker Racing, & IIRc it was CCRP kit. The disc brakes were a bolt on kit to my drum brake spindles, they are the Kelsey/Hayes style calipers like the 65/66 Mustangs had from the factory.

https://opentrackerracing.com/product/ford-kelsey-hayes-type-4-piston-caliper-power-disc-brake-kit-v8-with-manual-transmission-1967-1969-copy/

100_1086.jpg

I think Topher just wants to go from manual to power brakes?

Master Power brakes makes high quality stuff, they are located close to me in Mooresville, NC.  I have their power brake master cylinder in my 1970 convertible.  You should call them directly to make sure you get exactly what you need for your car.  I also think you can order direct from them.   

You will need to change your brake pedal.  This is one of those Mustang curses.  Lot's of variations and the brake pedals look very similar.   Master Power Brakes sells them, and they are really nice and very competitive in pricing, I have one of theirs in my car.

Good info from Mustang Steve on this topic here:  https://www.mustangsteve.com/msfaqbrakepedals.html

If you want to go to disc brakes, OpenTracker is high quality outfit.  

Lots and lots of other options.

Good luck. Feel free to fire away any questions you may have.

On 1/27/2020 at 12:20 PM, Topher26041 said: