mustangmike6996

Brake flaring made easy

Not exactly a How-to but....

Let me start off by saying that I am not selling a product or sponsored by anyone nor have any benefit by posting this.

I am currently active duty USMC, prior to this I was an ASE master tech for 10 years (still hold my certs and work on cars on the reg)

I have not had to replace too many brake lines at the dealership level, but consistently replaced them at the independent repair shops as well as my cars and projects.

Long story short, I recently plumbed my whole 1969 fastback with stainless lines and new fittings for 2008 front disc, stock rear 8" drums, FRPP prop valve, and tons and tons of care, busted knuckles and time with poor poor results. Almost every fitting leaked and some fluid ate the NEW FRESH PAINT off of my NEVER DRIVEN restorations.

I have always used the "traditional" flaring tools- simple kits with the small dies and T-handle with the bar that holds the brake lines. then you fight it and normally manage to make a crap flare.

I have used many many many different kits. I currently have a Matco double flaring 45 degree kit, and an OTC ISO (bubble) Flare kit. each kit was about 50-80 bucks (cant remember)

I recently decided to bite the bullet and buy the 199 dollar Inline Tube kit

http://www.amazon.com/K-Tool-International-KTI70081-Brake-Flaring/dp/B004IKRO34

Its the same kit that Eastwood, K tools and a few others use/sell. Normally you see them 235 or so for the kit but some shopping can get you the kit for 200 shipped.

This is by far-the EASIEST-BEST quality flares I have ever made. I used to spend about 20-30 minutes per flare with the traditional method and now it takes less than 5 minutes. If you are starting with a fresh line you might have 2 minutes invested with a perfect, uniform flare.

Eastwood has some very informational "How to use" videos which are worth the watch.