69R-CODE

My First Restoration

Gentlemen,

I have decided to finally start my first restoration project. I have posted on here before. Since then, I have been checking out this forum for the past three months and have got the fever!

Attached are some more pics of the car.

Here is my plan:

69 Mach 1 R-Code Fastback.

Going with the original 428CJ in it. Painting the car Gulfstream Aqua (original color)

I would like some starting tips, pointers, do's and dont's.

What do I need to do first? What tools should I get? What order does the car need to be fixed? What things would you farm out? What things would you do yourself?

Could you all point me in the right direction?

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!:helpsmilie:

Edited by 69R-CODE

I'm nearing the end of my 69 gulfstrem aqua Mach 1 project, I'd do a post here myself but my car skills are better than my computer skills I can never get a picture on a web site.

I'm not saying it's right but this is what I do. the first thing is the rolling shell, strip it to bare metal, fix what needs fixed, replace what can't, do as much body work as I feel I'm up to, then send it off for final body work and paint. the shops I use give me a MUCH better deal if I let them have the car for a year or so to use as a fill in project when things are slow.

Once that's out of my hair I rebuild the engine, transmission, seats, small parts, ect and that keeps me busy and broke while the body is out of my shop. when I get the car back it's just a matter of putting it all together.

If you're going to put a top lader in it be ready to open your wallet, that stuff is spendy. this car is the first auto I've ever owned and I was going to toss the C6 until I priced it all out. you could do a 5 speed for less probably but that's too non original for me.